Do you bill by the hour? Do you “hide” your time?

I examine the tools and processes I use to do my own work. Like many agency workers, I often bill by the hour. Check out my research on this phenomenon:

This paper is about time regimes that are typical in interactive agencies, as well as law firms, some construction companies and some management consultancies: the so-called “billable hour.” In this paper I ask how such a system is constructed, what tools are used to maintain it, and, most importantly, how do Web workers resist it?

More…

I invite comments to this discussion on my agencytime research blog. I am presenting this research at a conference in Edinburgh and wish to have insights from those who work under such time regimes.

Leave a Reply

